

## ROME FILM FEST 13 | 23 October 2022

## THE JURIES OF THE 2022 ROME FILM FEST

The Iranian director and graphic novel artist Marjane Satrapi will chair the jury of the Progressive Cinema Competition with Louis Garrel, Juho Kuosmanen, Pietro Marcello and Gabrielle Tana

## Carlo Verdone with Marisa Paredes and Teresa Mannino will award the "Ugo Tognazzi" prize for Best Comedy, Julie Bertuccelli with Roberto De Paolis and Daniela Michel the BNL BNP Paribas Best First Feature Award

Marjane Satrapi will be the president of the jury of the Progressive Cinema Competition, the new competitive section of the Rome Film Fest. The announcement was made by the Artistic Director Paola Malanga, in agreement with Gian Luca Farinelli, President of the Fondazione Cinema per Roma, and Francesca Via, General Manager.

The Iranian director and graphic novel artist, author of the acclaimed animation film *Persepolis*, nominated for an Oscar®, and of works such as *Chicken with Plums*, *La bande des Jotas*, *The Voices* and *Radioactive*, all presented at the major international film festivals, will be accompanied by the actor and director Louis Garrel, the directors Juho Kuosmanen and Pietro Marcello and the producer Gabrielle Tana. The jury will award the following acknowledgments to the films of the Progressive Cinema Competition: Best Film, Jury Grand Prix, Best Director, Best Screenplay, "Monica Vitti" Award for Best Actress, "Vittorio Gassman" Award for Best Actor and the Special Jury Prize, to be selected among the categories of cinematography, editing and original soundtrack.

The Rome Film Fest will also host the "Ugo Tognazzi" Award for Best Comedy to be awarded by a jury chaired by filmmaker Carlo Verdone with members Marisa Paredes and author and actress Teresa Mannino. The winning film will be selected among the titles in the line-ups of the Progressive Cinema and Freestyle Competitions. Special attention will be given to young authors with the BNL BNP Paribas Best First Feature Award: a jury chaired by the director and screenwriter Julie Bertuccelli, with members director Roberto De Paolis and film critic Daniela Michel, will award the prize to one of the films in the line-ups of the Progressive Cinema and Freestyle Competition sections.